Early Little League Teams

Dublin Core


Early Little League Teams


With the advent of the new year, Little League sign-ups cannot be far behind. Don Richardson, local baseball coaching legend, shared with me some photos of early baseball teams from the 1950s and 1960s.

See how many of these names you can recognize. Have the faces of these “boys of summer” changed too much over the years to be recognizable?

Collins Drug Store Team (circa 1954) — Pony League Champions Back Row: Oren L. Collins, Jimmy Hinkle, Jim Roop, Bobbie Jones, Kenneth Tate, Carter Brandenburg, Jimmy (Pony) Cowan, James Hale, Earnest Aldridge and Don Richardson, head coach and manager. Seated: Earl Douglas Campbell, Ronnie Ginter, Donald Willoughby, Bobbie Turpin, Herbert Crowe, Billy Joe Stevens, Don Lane. Bat Boy – Ronnie Aldridge.

Richmond Cops Team (circa 1954) — Pony League Runner-Up. Back Row: Donnie McQueen, coach and manager, Edgar McBride, Jackie Isaacs, Wayne Bowling, Bill Puteet, Billy Hendren, Bob Sandlin, Bob Jones, Johnny Coy, Carl T. Newland. Seated: Ronnie Cunliffe, John Hancock, Allen McCracken, Chester (Red) Richardson, Paul Kays, Bobby Combs, Orville Abner. Bat Boy – Charles Cunliffe.

VFW Pioneers Team (circa 1961) — Champions first year of sanctioned Little League play in Richmond Back Row: Charles Benton, coach, Dean Turner, Doug West, Danny Cruse, Wayne Park, Richard Snowden, unknown, Coach, Don Richardson. Front Row: Billy Wells, Clay Nelson, Eddie Benton, Hugh Harrison, John McKinney, Mark Williams, Mil Jones.


Dr. Fred Engle




Content may be freely copied for personal and educational purposes with appropriate citation. Permission is required to reprint.





Dr. Fred Engle, “Early Little League Teams,” Madison's Heritage Online, accessed June 15, 2024, https://madisonsheritage.eku.edu/items/show/1879.